E-CIG STATE LAWS

CURRENT AND PENDING LEGISLATION

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC

Are Electronic Cigarettes Legal or Banned In Your State?

It’s important to have the latest information on all laws that affect vaping. We’ve compiled the latest laws in all 50 states for you. Just check out the table below. If you’re in one of the vape friendly states, you might want to check out our best vape stores online for 2018 and best e-liquid buying guide for 2018 featuring great brands like Halo e cigs and Halo e juice.

State Color Key:

Green:  Safe to Vape (For Now)

Yellow:  Anti-Vaping Legislation Pending

Red:  Anti-Vaping Legislation Passed

STATECURRENT LAWPENDING LEGISLATION
AlabamaDefines alternative nicotine products. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 19.
AlaskaProhibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 19.
ArizonaDefines vapor product. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
ArkansasDefines e-cigarette/vapor devicce. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
CaliforniaDefines e-cigarette device. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
ColoradoDefines e-cigarette as a tobacco product. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
ConnecticutDefines electronic nicotine delivery system, vapor product. Prohibits sale to anyone under the age of 18.
DelawareDefines tobacco substitute. Prohibits sale to minors under 18 years old.
District of Columbia
FloridaProhibits the sale to anyone under the age of 18.
GeorgiaDefines alternative nicotine product. Prohibits the sale to minors under 18.
HawaiiDefines electronic smoking device. Prohibits sale to minors under 18.
IdahoDefines e-cigarette. Prohibits sale to minor under 18.
IllinoisUpdate HB5689 - Passed.
Update 4-29-14: Chicago prohibits the use of e-cigs within 15 feet of any building entrance. E-cig use is banned in most public places. Chicago retailers must keep e-cigs behind the counter.

Defines alternative nicotine products. Illinois prohibits the sale of e-cigs to minors.
IndianaDefines electronic cigarette. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
IowaDefines electronic cigarette as vapor product. Also defines alternative nicotine product. Prohibits distribution to minors under 18.
KansasProhibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18. Tobacco use, including use of e-cigarettes, prohibited in Dept. of Corrections facilities and on grounds thereof, by both employees and inmates.
KentuckyProhibits sale to minors under 18.
LouisianaDefines alternative nicotine products, electronic cigarettes and vaporizers, and prohibits sale to a minor under 18.
Maine
MarylandDefines electronic device. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18. “Smoking, including use of e-cigarettes prohibited on MARC commuter rail system trains.”
MassachussetsBoston prohibits sale of e-cigarettes to minors and prohibits e cigs in the workplace.
MichiganAdds vapor and alternative nicotine products to youth tobacco act and prohibits sale or distribution to minors under 18.
MinnesotaDefines nicotine delivery products, tobacco-related devices and electronic delivery device, and prohibits sale to minors under 18.
Defines the taxing methods applied to ecigarettes and alternative nicotine/vapor products. Requires child-resistant packaging for liquid nicotine containers.
MississippiDefines alternative nicotine product and electronic cigarette. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
MissouriDefines alternative nicotine and vapor products, and prohibits sale to minors under 18. States that alternative nicotine and vapor products are not to be regulated or taxed as tobacco products. Vapor product does not include any alternative nicotine product or tobacco product.
MontanaDefines e-cigarettes as a “vapor product”. “Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to minors under the age of 18, Possession/use of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited as of Sept 15, 2017”
NebraskaDefines alternative nicotine and vapor products. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
NevadaDefines products made or derived from tobacco, which also prohibits sale to minors under 18.
New HampshireDefines e-cigarette, liquid nicotine, and tobacco product. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
New JerseyDefines and adds e-cigarette to list of tobacco-related items that cannot be sold to minors under 19. Prohibits the use of e-cigarettes in public places and workplaces.
New Mexico
New YorkUpdate 4-29-14: New York City bans the use of e-cigs wherever regular cigarettes are banned including restaurants, workplaces, bars, parks and offices.

Defines tobacco products and e-cigarettes. Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.

Prohibits use of e-cigarettes within 100 feet of entrances of schools and public buildings. Update 9/15/2017: Defined as an “electronic delivery device”, “Prohibits sales of e-cigarettes or nicotine liquid containers to minors under 18 effective Sept. 15, 2017”, Nicotine liquid must be sold in child-resistant containers, E-cigarettes and nicotine liquid containers must be sold in “original factory-sealed package”.
North CarolinaDefines tobacco-derived products and vapor products, and bans sales to minors under 18.

Taxes liquid nicotine at 5 cents per milliliter.
North DakotaProhibits use of e-cigarettes in almost every public and private location in the state.
OhioDefines e-cigarette as an alternative nicotine product and prohibits sales to minors under 18.
OklahomaDefines vapor product, prohibits sale to minors under 18 and prohibits use within 300 feet of schools.
OregonOR DOJ Settlement prohibits sale of e-cigarettes until they are FDA approved, or until court rules FDA cannot regulate them and scientific research can prove them safe. In addition, the companies must give the Attorney General advance notice that they intend to sell electronic cigarettes in Oregon, provide copies of all electronic cigarette advertising, and provide copies of the scientific studies they maintain substantiates their claims.
PennsylvaniaUpdate 4-10-14
Philadelphia has banned the sale of e-cigs to minors and prohibits the use of e-cigs in virtually all public places including bars, restaurants and workplaces.
Rhode IslandDefines and adds electronic nicotine delivery system to definition of tobacco products and prohibits sale to minors under 18.
South CarolinaDefines alternative nicotine product and e-cigarette, also prohibits sale to minors under 18 if the product includes nicotine.
South DakotaDefines vapor product as a tobacco product and adds to list of products prohibited for minors under 18. Tobacco use, including use of e-cigarettes, prohibited in Dept. of Corrections facilities and on grounds thereof, by both employees and inmates.
TennesseeProhibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18.
TexasAs of October 1, 2015, it is criminal negligent to sell e-cig anything to minors. Here is link to the full law: http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/SB00097I.htm. Use of e-cigarettes prohibited in specified public places, except in designated areas.
UtahIncludes e-cigs in the state public smoking ban, prohibiting the use of e-cigs in all public places and workplaces.

Prohibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 19.

Includes e-cigs in indoor smoking ban.
VermontDefines tobacco substitutes, paraphernalia and products, to includes e-cigarettes and other vapor devices. Also prohibits sale to minors under 18.



Adds liquid nicotine cartridges to the list of products that must meet federal child-resistant effective packaging standards to be sold in the state of Vermont.
VirginiaProhibits the sale, distribution and use of electronic cigarettes, vapor products and other alternative nicotine products to persons under the age of 18. Bans the use of electronic cigarettes on/in school property. Smoking, including use of e-cigarettes, prohibited on Virginia Railway Express trains and limited to 100 feet on north end of station platforms.
WashingtonProhibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18. vapor products are prohibited in child care facilities, schools, on playgrounds, school buses, elevators, and within 500 feet of schools. E-liquid sampling must take place inside a retail establishment for those over 18, and under the conditions of a sale.

King County has banned the use of e-cigarettes in public places.
West VirginiaProhibits the sale, distribution and use of electronic cigarettes, vapor products and other alternative nicotine products to persons under the age of 18.
WisconsinProhibits the sale of e-cigarettes to anyone under 18. Smoking, including use of e-cigarettes, prohibited at indoor facilities of State Fair and including the main stage area.
WyomingDefines “tobacco products” to include any product that is made from or contains nicotine. Defines electronic cigarette. Also prohibited for minors under 18.
Vaping State Laws
4 (80%) 1 vote

Vaping Pens We Evaluated

Vaping Tanks We Reviewed

Sub Ohm Tanks We Reviewed

Box Mods We Reviewed

Beginner & 0-50w Box Mods We Reviewed

50-100w Box Mods We Reviewed

100 – 200w Box Mods We Reviewed

Vape Mods We Reviewed

 

Mini Box Mods We Reviewed

Temperature Control Mods We Reviewed

Mechanical Mods We Reviewed

Vaporizers We Reviewed

Starter Kits We Reviewed

Vape Pen Starter Kits We Reviewed

Vape Mod Starter Kits We Reviewed

E-Liquids and Juice Brands We Reviewed

Online Vape Stores We Reviewed

Vape Battery Chargers We Reviewed

Dry Herb Vaporizers We Reviewed

Navigation